The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths : The Three Aspects and Twelve Ways

The Four Noble Truths : The Three Aspects and Twelve Ways

‘The four noble truths are the most basic expression of the Buddha’s teaching. As Ven. Sariputta once said, they encompass the entire teaching, just as the footprint of an elephant can encompass the footprints of all other footed beings on earth.

These four truths are best understood, not as beliefs, but as categories of experience. They offer an alternative to the ordinary way we categorize what we can know and describe, in terms of me/not me, and being/not being. These ordinary categories create trouble, for the attempt to maintain full being for one’s sense of “me” is a stressful effort doomed to failure, in that all of the components of that “me” are inconstant, stressful, and thus not worthy of identifying as “me” or “mine.”

To counter this problem, the four noble truths drop ideas of me/not me, and being/not being, and replace them with two sets of variables: cause and effect, skillful and unskillful. In other words, there is the truth of stress and suffering (unskillful effect), the truth of the origination of stress (unskillful cause), the truth of the cessation of stress (skillful effect), and the truth of the path to the cessation of stress (skillful cause). Each of these truths entails a duty: stress is to be comprehended, the origination of stress abandoned, the cessation of stress realized, and the path to the cessation of stress developed. When all of these duties have been fully performed, the mind gains total release. … ‘

– ‘The Four Noble Truths : A Study Guide’ by Thanissaro Bhikkhu
– Source :

Study the Dhammacakkappavattana Sutta SN 56.11 here ..

A Dhamma Talk by Bhante Gunaratana on
Dhammacakkappavattana Sutta
here …
Part 1
Part 2


– Posted by CFFong