Introduction to Khuddaka Nikaya

by Venerable Dhammavuddho Mahāthero

The Tipitaka (Pali ti, “three,” + pitaka, “baskets”), or Pali canon, is the collection of primary Pali language texts which form the doctrinal foundation of Theravada Buddhism. The Tipitaka and the paracanonical Pali texts (commentarieschronicles, etc.) together constitute the complete body of classical Theravada texts.



The three divisions of the Tipitaka are:
a. Vinaya Pitaka
b. Sutta Pitaka
c. Abhidhamma Pitaka

Sutta Pitaka

The collection of suttas, or discourses, attributed to the Buddha and a few of his closest disciples, containing all the central teachings of Theravada Buddhism. (More than one thousand sutta translations are available on this website.) The suttas are divided among five nikayas (collections):

The Khuddaka Nikaya, or “Collection of Little Texts” (Pali khudda = “smaller; lesser”), the fifth division of the Sutta Pitaka, is a wide-ranging collection of fifteen books (eighteen in the Burmese Tipitaka) containing complete suttas, verses, and smaller fragments of Dhamma teachings. Many of these have been treasured and memorized by devout Buddhists around the world for centuries.

The Tipitaka

The Tipitaka

About Venerable Dhammavuddho Mahāthero

Sources :

“Introduction to Khuddaka Nikaya ” by Venerable Dhammavuddho Mahāthero …

“Tipitaka” …

Physical Resources : Pustaka Nalanda hosts 3 precious sets of Pāḷi Tipitaka in Roman, Sinhala, and Devanagiri Scripts.  The Library also has the English translation of Tipitaka published by the Pāḷi Text Society, as well as the entire set of Buddhist Encyclopedia (edited by Prof. G. P. Malalasekara) published by the Government of Ceylon (presently Sri Lanka) in 1965. …

 The Sri Dharma Tipitaka Hall in Pustaka Nalanda’s main library at Nalanda Centre.

The Sri Dharma Tipitaka Hall in Pustaka Nalanda’s main library at Nalanda Centre.

Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). Use OPAC to search collection in Pustaka Nalanda at …


– Posted by CFFong


Comments are closed.